26 Jan 2016

MU professor charged with 3rd degree assault for actions during campus unrest: Melissa Click was captured on video attempting to force reporters out of protest space

  
ABC 17 News confirmed Monday night through her lawyer Chris Slusher that Dr. Melissa Click will plead "not guilty" to that charge. Slusher said they will waive her arraignment as well.
Interim Chancellor Hank Foley announced Monday afternoon that Click will keep her job for the time being.
Foley said she is currently working from home and will continue to do so the rest of the week.
Foley said a task force made up of scholars, MUPD, administrators, and students will sort through everything that happened on November 9. The task force will help determine if any other action will need to be taken.
"When we deviate from our processes, we tend to make mistakes. We have our ways of doing things that are not hasty," said Foley in regard to the task force process.
"People are held accountable for their actions at the University. This is not being looked over."
Foley said "Dr. Click is frankly aggrieved by this. I doubt she would do anything like this again."
MU Police gave documents to prosecutors on its investigation into Click back in November.
Click is scheduled to be in municipal court for a hearing Tuesday.
Click was seen in several videos confronting journalists and blocking their access to protests on the MU campus through physical and verbal intimidation.
The MU School of Journalism revoked her courtesy title following the incident.
Some MU faculty voiced their support for Click in a signed letter, but several lawmakers called for her termination earlier this month.
Columbia State Representative Caleb Jones told ABC17 News the charges are appropriate.  "While the University of Missouri seems to have no accountability the judicial system in Missouri does," said Jones.
Last week, a member of the UM Board of Curators joined the call for her firing.
You can read and watch complete coverage on the MU campus protests here.
The punishment for third degree assault is listed as up to 15 days in jail and up to a $500 fine according to several defense attorney websites.
The following is a description of Class C Assault from Missouri State Statutes:
565.070. 1. A person commits the crime of assault in the third degree if:
(1) The person attempts to cause or recklessly causes physical injury to another person; or
(2) With criminal negligence the person causes physical injury to another person by means of a deadly weapon; or
(3) The person purposely places another person in apprehension of immediate physical injury; or
(4) The person recklessly engages in conduct which creates a grave risk of death or serious physical injury to another person; or
(5) The person knowingly causes physical contact with another person knowing the other person will regard the contact as offensive or provocative; or

0 comments:

Post a Comment