3 Jan 2015

High School Students Will Think Twice Before Skipping Class Because Of This New Law

Texas high school students are going back to school, but the new year is bringing with it a new law that aims to keep them in the classroom and out of trouble.
In light of rising truancy rates, students will now face the possibility of a driver’s license suspension for repeatedly cutting class.
 Every year ushers in a slew of new laws across the country. One new law in Texas is sure to get the attention of high school students who have a propensity to skip class: cross the line, and you’ll lose your driver’s license.
SB 269, which takes effect on New Year’s Day, is designed to ensure that students are in the classroom at least 90 percent of the school year. Those who are not will pay the “ultimate” price in the eyes of many teenagers: loss of driving privileges. According to the new law:

If a student has too many unexcused absences, his or her driver’s license will be taken away for 30 days on the first offense and 60 days on the second.
If a student has yet to obtain a license and has numerous unexcused absences, that student won’t be able to get a license until the situation is rectified.
If a student breaks the rules a third time, he or she will have to become compliant and repeat all the steps needed to obtain a driver’s license, including having a picture taken.
While the new law might seem harsh, and signal unwarranted state interference in private affairs, it is not meant as a replacement for good parenting, but merely a supplement to augment class attendance and graduation rates.
Parents who make sure their kids are regularly attending class will be left unaffected by the measure. But others might now have an opportunity they wouldn’t otherwise receive: the chance to see their son or daughter graduate.

0 comments:

Post a Comment